SAINT MARTIAL, VILLAGE PERCHÉ CÉVENOL

Saint Martial has seen its activities evolve throughout the centuries: cultivation of chestnut groves from the XIth to the XXth century, sericulture from the XVIIIth to the middle of the XIXth century and spinning until the 1930s, so to say activities which allowed numerous families to make a living.
On top of that, pig, sheep and goat farming was also a major activity. Sheep farming has for a long time been one of the pillars of the local economy, as the sheepfolds still testify to.
Nowadays, Saint Martial is in the Cévennes National Park. The village is certified "Site Remarquable du Goût" for the terrace cultivation of the Cevennes Sweet Onions (AOC). They are manually harvested, and they perpetuate a traditional savoir-faire that has been shaping a marvellous landscape for many centuries. The village is also known for its great inn, as well as for its cashmere textile industry.

Address

 
30440 SAINT-MARTIAL

GPS coordinates : 44.03554 / 3.735497

Means of communication

Open

from 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Animals accepted

yes

Groups

Reception of groups : yes

Free entry

yes

Individual visits

  • permanent free visits

Tourist office
Cévennes Méditerranée

26 avenue Pasteur
34190 GANGES

+33(0) 467 73 00 56

Whatsapp : 07 75 28 07 02

Weather

What's the weather like ?

sun. 17 oct. sun. 17 oct. Sun 16°C
yr.no

Stay tuned

Follow us on social networks

This site and related services may place cookies * (or trackers) on your computer.
They are not installed by default.

Social networks (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Trip Advisor, etc.) may deposit cookies intended for statistical and marketing monitoring of your link sharing. Refer to their respective privacy policies for more information.
The refusal of these cookies will not affect your visit to the current site, but will prevent you from sharing the content of this site on your respective networks.

* a cookie is a small file stored by a server in the terminal (computer, telephone, etc.) of a user and associated with a web domain (i.e. in most cases to all the pages of 'same website). This file is automatically returned on subsequent contacts with the same domain.
  • Grand Site de France
This site uses cookies (or tracers) when you browse. Your explicit consent is required for their use. Click here to find out more
This site and related services may place cookies * (or trackers) on your computer.
They are not installed by default.

Online video distribution platforms (Youtube, Vimeo, Dailymotion, etc.) may place cookies intended for statistical and marketing monitoring of your consultations. Refer to their respective privacy policies for more information.
The refusal of these cookies will not affect their consultation on the current site.

Social networks (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Trip Advisor, etc.) may deposit cookies intended for statistical and marketing monitoring of your link sharing. Refer to their respective privacy policies for more information.
The refusal of these cookies will not affect your visit to the current site, but will prevent you from sharing the content of this site on your respective networks.

This site is subject to audience measurement via the Google Analytics platform. See the Google Analytics privacy policy for more information.
Refusing these cookies will not affect your user experience on the current site.

* a cookie is a small file stored by a server in the terminal (computer, telephone, etc.) of a user and associated with a web domain (i.e. in most cases to all the pages of 'same website). This file is automatically returned on subsequent contacts with the same domain.

SAINT MARTIAL, VILLAGE PERCHÉ CÉVENOL

Saint Martial a vu ses activités évoluer au cours des siècles : l’exploitation des châtaigneraies du XIème siècle jusqu’au début du XXème siècle, la sériciculture du XVIIIème siècle jusqu’au milieu du XIXème siècle et la filature jusque dans les années 1930 qui firent vivre de nombreuses familles. À cela s’ajoutait l’élevage des chèvres, des moutons et des porcs. L'élevage ovin a été longtemps un des piliers de l'économie locale dont les bergeries sont encore les témoins.
Aujourd’hui Saint Martial fait partie du parc National des Cévennes. La commune est labellisée «Site Remarquable du Goût » pour la culture en terrasses de l’oignon doux des Cévennes (AOC). Celui-ci, cultivé manuellement, perpétue un savoir faire traditionnel qui a, depuis des siècles, façonné un paysage remarquable. Le Village est aussi renommé pour sa bonne auberge et pour son industrie textile de cachemire.

Adresse

 
30440 SAINT-MARTIAL

Coordonnées GPS : 44.03554 / 3.735497

Moyens de communication

Ouverture

du 01/01/2021 au 31/12/2021

Animaux acceptés

oui

Groupes

Réception groupes : oui

Entrée gratuite

oui

Visites individuelles

  • visites libres en permance

Office de Tourisme
Cévennes Méditerranée

26 avenue Pasteur
34190 GANGES

+33(0) 467 73 00 56

Météo

Quel temps fait-il ?

jeu. 28 oct. jeu. 28 oct. Fortes pluies 16°C
yr.no

Restez connectés

Suivez-nous sur les réseaux sociaux

Ce site et les services liés sont susceptibles de déposer des cookies* (ou traceurs) sur votre ordinateur.
Ils ne sont pas installés par défaut.

Les réseaux sociaux (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Trip Advisor...) peuvent déposer des cookies destinés au suivi statistique et marketing de vos partages de liens. Reportez-vous à leurs politiques de confidentialités respectives pour en savoir plus.
Le refus de ces cookies n'altérera pas la consultation du site actuel, mais vous empêchera de partager le contenu de ce site sur vos réseaux respectifs.

* un cookie est un petit fichier stocké par un serveur dans le terminal (ordinateur, téléphone, etc.) d’un utilisateur et associé à un domaine web (c’est à dire dans la majorité des cas à l’ensemble des pages d’un même site web). Ce fichier est automatiquement renvoyé lors de contacts ultérieurs avec le même domaine.
  • Grand Site de France
Ce site recours à l'utilisation de cookies (ou traceurs) lors de votre navigation. Votre consentement explicite est nécessaire à leur utilisation. cliquez ici pour en savoir plus
Ce site et les services liés sont susceptibles de déposer des cookies* (ou traceurs) sur votre ordinateur.
Ils ne sont pas installés par défaut.

Les plateformes de diffusion de vidéos en ligne (Youtube, Vimeo, Dailymotion...) peuvent déposer des cookies destinés au suivi statistique et marketing de vos consultations. Reportez-vous à leurs politiques de confidentialités respectives pour en savoir plus.
Le refus de ces cookies n'altérera pas leur consultation sur le site actuel.

Les réseaux sociaux (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Trip Advisor...) peuvent déposer des cookies destinés au suivi statistique et marketing de vos partages de liens. Reportez-vous à leurs politiques de confidentialités respectives pour en savoir plus.
Le refus de ces cookies n'altérera pas la consultation du site actuel, mais vous empêchera de partager le contenu de ce site sur vos réseaux respectifs.

Ce site fait l'objet de mesure d'audience via la plateforme Google Analytics. Reportez-vous à la politique de confidentialité de Google Analytics pour en savoir plus.
Le refus de ces cookies n'altérera pas votre expérience utilisateur sur le site actuel.

* un cookie est un petit fichier stocké par un serveur dans le terminal (ordinateur, téléphone, etc.) d’un utilisateur et associé à un domaine web (c’est à dire dans la majorité des cas à l’ensemble des pages d’un même site web). Ce fichier est automatiquement renvoyé lors de contacts ultérieurs avec le même domaine.